The Fiction Jury consisting of:

Ritu Sarin (Chairperson), Lijo Jose Pellissery, Carla Losch have awarded the following films at the 10th IDSFFK

1. Best Animation Film

Fish Curry / MaacherJhol
(INR 25,000 &Certificate) shared equally between producer & Director

Dir: Abhishek Verma

Produced by Abhisekh Verma and others

This outstanding animation film deals with a serious issue in the most playful and inventive way. Its rhythm, its humour and attention to detail took us on a wonderful journey, which explores changing values.

2. Best Campus Film produced within Kerala

(INR 20,000 &Certificate) shared equally between the crew

Dir: Sangeet Unni

Produced by K R Narayanan Institute of Visual Science and Arts

The simplicity of this student’s film was commendable. By using a sparse narrative, it manages to convey the loneliness of a young girl as she tries to make sense of her situation while listening to her parents’ fight

3. Jury Prize Short Fiction

Grandfather / Aaba
(INR 25,000 &Certificate) shared equally between the Producer &Director
 Dir: Amar KaushikProduced by : Raj kumar Gupta & Mitul Dikshit

This beautifully shot film takes us to the depths of Arunachal Pradesh. The story of life and death unfolds tenderly and we get a truly human perspective through the eyes of a young girl.

4. Best Short Fiction

Days of Autumn / Xorotor Aabelibur
(INR 50,000 & Certificate) shared equally between the Producer &Director

 Dir: Mukul Haloi

Produced by FTII, Pune

The jury was deeply impressed by this subtle film in which the filmmaker takes us into the intimate space of its characters and through them, allows us to experience the cycles and rhythms of life as it passes by. We were particularly captivated by the way in which nature is interwoven into the main narrative.

Non Fiction:

The Jury consisting of:

Andrew Vial (Chairperson), Rajula Shah & Vipin Vijay have awarded the following films at the 10th IDSFFK :

Navroze Contractor Award for the best Documentary Cinematographer (INR 15,000 donated by Navroze Contractor

Ranjan Palit for the film “ In praise of that Angel Face”

Dir: Nirmal Chandar

For being alive and agile with cinematographic rigor, to a reality, and giving a body to an unforgettable voice.

The Jury has not given any Awards in the Short Documentary category

Long Documentary

Special Mention

The Books We Made

Dir: Uma Tanaku and Anupama Chandra

Produced by PSBT: Rajiv Mehrotra

For the Sensitive portrayal of the struggle to bring into the main frame, alternate histories of women in their own voice.

Special Mention

 Of Love & Artistry


Dir: Suruchi Sharma

Produced by Jane Himmeth Singh

For the disarmingly simple account of a community of singers, inspired to save their songs by finding newer ways of continuing to sing them.

Best Long Documentary Shared by two films: the cash prize of INR.1.00 lakh will be shared by the two films

Nostalgia For The Future

Dir: Avijith Mukul Kishore and Rohan Shivkumar (INR 50,000/ to be shared by the producer and the Directors)Producer: Film’s Division

For bringing forth the paradox of Indian Modernity, and making a concerted effort to engage with it.

Soz – A Ballad of Maladies  (INR 50,000/ to be shared by the producer and the Directors)

Dir: Tushar Madahav and Sarvnik Kaur

Produced by: PSBT. Rajiv Mehrotra

For a mindful looking at deeply troubled times and the fresh perspective that the film provides on the suspended predicament of being human.