9th International Documentary and Short Film Festival of Kerala -2016
Jury Members

Jury Documentary

1.K U MOHANAN ( Cinematographer ) - Jury Chairman

K U Mohanan, a noted cinematographer of Bollywood and other Indian language hails from Kannur. He is an alumnus of Film and Television Institute. His work ‘Miss Lovely’ was applauded at Cannes and ‘Celluloid man’, a documentary well received. He assisted Mani Kaul in Noukar ki kameez. His camera work in Lagan and Don opened up Bollywood to him. His films include We are Family, Aja Nachle, Don, John &Jane, Y Not ?, Samay : When time strikes, Freaky Chakra, Rooms of Shadow and Light, The Magnificent Ruin, Aadhi Haqeet, Aadha Fasana, Agnivarsha: The Fire and the Rain, Majuben Truck Driver.


2. BARBARA LOREY ( Film Programmer )

Barbara Lorey studied theater in Munich, social sciences in Hamburg and Paris and holds Masters degrees in Clinical Psychology and Sociology. Since 1987 she was a cultural correspondent and film journalist for various German and Swiss daily newspapers and magazines. Barbara Lorey has curated photo-exhibitions in Europe and the USA, conducted workshops on film appreciation and film criticism and is an artistic advisor for various international film festivals such as the Intl. Documentary Film Festival Visions du Réel, Switzerland. With a special interest in films from the Indian subcontinent, she is s the curator of several Indian regional film programs for an art house cinema in Hamburg. In charge of the FIPRESCI Award Series, she also organizes all year round for a wide range of international film festivals special programs with films that have received the Fipresci Award. She is a member of the European Film Academy.

3. NISHTHA JAIN ( Filmmaker )

Nishtha Jain worked as an editor in television before joining the Film and Television Institute of India, where she specialized in film direction. Since 1998, she has been making documentaries and shorts, and briefly worked as commissioning editor for a documentary channel. Among her special interests are the individual and collective narratives that abound in photographic images. Her 2005 film, City of Photos, explored neighbourhood photo studios, unearthing the fantasy worlds buried under gritty physical realities

Jury Fiction

1.KAMAL SWAROOP ( Filmmaker )- Jury Chairman

Kamal Swaroop is a film, television and radio director and screenwriter. He got graduated from the Film and Television Institute. He assisted director Richard Attenborough in Gandhi (1982). His first film Om-Dar-Ba-Dar (1988) is considered a cult classic. Though the film was premiered at the Berlin FF, it never got a theatrical release in India. The restored version of Om-Dar-Ba-Dar was released in 2014. Swaroop won the National Award for the Best Non Feature Film for Rangbhoomi in 2014. The film premiered at Rome FF (2013).
His documentary Battle of Banaras was selected for Cinema du Reel in 2016.

2. HENRY HUGHES ( Filmmaker )

Henry Hughes grew up as an army brat who spent his childhood both in the US and Europe. He studied film and literatureat Boston University. He was a paratrooper in the 173rd Airborne, conducting two combat tours in Afghanistan.
Henry was featured in ABC News’ Standing Up For Heroes with Bob Woodruff. Henry earned a MFA in Directing at the American Film Institute, where he received the Gary Winick Scholarship. His work has played at Telluride, AFI Fest, Mill Valley, Seattle, and Cannes among others. He lives in Los Angeles with his wife.





3. VINOD SUKUMARAN (Filmmaker & Editor)

Vinod Sukumaran is a National Award winning filmmaker and editor. He holds a Master’s in Filmmaking from Film and Television Institute of Indi, Pune (FTII). In 2001 he won the National Award for Best Debut Director for Non- Feature film for his film Diary of a Housewife. He has also won Kerala State Awards for Best Editor for Ore Kadal in 2008. In 2015 he directed his first feature film Haram.